Study MBBS in Egypt

Egypt has become a new destination for overseas study of MBBS. Egypt is known to be the third-highest population country in the Africa region. The modern history of Egyptian medical education begins in 1827.Its curriculum development process was guided by the recommendations of a national symposium on innovation in medical education held in Al-Fayoum, southeast of Cairo. Currently, admission to Egyptian higher education institutions, including medical schools, is managed centrally by a national coordination office. The male-to-female ratio for admission and graduation is almost balanced, with an average of 10,000 physicians graduating annually from Egyptian medical schools. To date, Egyptian medical schools have followed the British model, comprising a five-year program of undergraduate medical education. This system features a clear preclinical–clinical dichotomy, and (in Egypt) takes English as the language of instruction. A Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery (MBBCh) is awarded upon graduation, but graduates must attend 2 year internship program before obtaining their license to practice as general practitioners. Almost all medical schools in Egypt have well-established teaching hospitals, and most confine the clinical training of students to these hospitals. The universities here are approved by the WHO, MCI, WFME, ECFMG, UNESCO and Medical Councils of many countries such as India, America, the UK, UAE etc. The universities in Egypt also offer scholarships to deserving students. Some ranked medical universities are featured here.

Cairo University

Cairo University has successfully been undertaking its mission of delivering education, research and cultural duties over the years. It is considered as the mother university among other younger universities in Egypt. Cairo University is also offering its education and research facilities to Arab and foreign students and scientists and has become well known worldwide. Cairo University is a comprehensive institution of higher learning located in Giza, Egypt. CU is committed to preparing students for the challenges of rapidly changing workplace. Through interactive learning and information technologies, graduates enter the work force with the skills needed to succeed in today’s global marketplaces. Cairo University was established in 1908, currently it has 26 faculties/institutions in different scientific disciplines, with total volume of about 250000 students. In this respect, the university has adapted unconventional methods to develop the system of academic research in order to meet the needs of society and research and to encourage its scholars and researchers.

Ain Shams University

Ain Shams University was founded in 1950 and is located in Egypt. The university offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programs and has seven campus locations. Four are located in Alabassya, two in Heliopolis and one in Shubra Elkheima. It is one of the largest educational medical institutions in Africa and the Middle East. Ain Shams University is focused on blending theoretical and practical skills and on strengthening cooperation between scientific research centers regionally and internationally. The Faculty of Medicine serves more than 6000 undergraduate students over the 6 years of undergraduate teaching, and more than 1500 post-graduate students (Diplomas, Master of Science in medicine & Medical Doctorate) in various academic and clinical departments. Not only one of the medical schools, but a free (not for profit) hospital serving more than one million patients annually. Faculty of Medicine Educational Hospital (internal medicine and surgery) consists of an outpatient clinic and inpatient department. Both have approximately 3200 beds (in 1997), with more than 10,000 staff working in all departments and serving about 2,000,000 patients from all over Egypt annually.

Alexandria University

In 1938, the nucleus of the Alexandria University had its beginning in the form of two satellite faculties of Fouad the First University. These were the faculties of Arts and Law. The faculty of Engineering was then established in 1941. In the light of the need for developing more disciplines for higher learning and with a view towards meeting the need of the people of Alexandria, Alexandria University, formerly known as Farouk University, became a separate entity in August 1942 with four additional faculties: Science, Commerce, Medicine and Agriculture. In 1952, it became “Alexandria University”. Since then, the University witnessed growth and expansion in several fields: the number of Faculties and high institutes increased to 30. Some example of them are as follows: Faculty of Nursing, 1954 (formerly, High Institute of Nursing) Faculty of Pharmacy, 1956 High Institute of Public Health, 1963 Faculty of Education, 1969 Faculty of Dentistry, 1971 Medical Research Institute, 1971.

Mansoura University

Mansoura University is Located on the east bank of the Nile, around 120km northwest of Cairo and founded in 1972. Mansoura University is an internationally ranked university and is also a top 30 university in the QS Arab Region University Rankings is comprising over 7,000 faculty members who teach over 165,000 undergraduate students and 18,000 postgraduate students across a wide range of degree programs, including engineering, science, agriculture, veterinary medicine, medicine and dentistry. Most degrees at Mansoura University are fully-taught in English. However, there are some Arab-taught degree programs as well. Mansoura University has a distinguished reputation for its medical facilities, including nine major hospitals and medical centers, as well as a medical experience research center (MERC).

Contact us